first_imgPuducherry, June 8 (PTI) Chief Minister V Narayanasamy will hold the portfolios of Home, Planning and Finance among others in the union territory government.He would also look after General Administration, Irrigation and Flood Control, Hindu Religious Institutions, Port, Law and all other subjects not allocated to any other minister, Chief Secretaery Manoj Parida said in a release, two days after Narayanasamy-led Congress ministry was sowrn in. Lt Governor Kiran Bedi in consultation with the Chief Minister has allocated to the Ministers the “Business of the Government in so far as they are required to aid and advise the Lt Governor under Section 44 of the Government of Union Territories Act 1963,” the release said. Narayanasamy was sworn in as the head of the six-member Congress ministry on June 6 and the much awaited portfolio allocation was announced today. A Namassivayam, the number two in the ministry, has been assigned the portfolios of Public Works including Public Health Division, Local Administration, Excise, Town and Country Planning, Animal Husbandry, Economics and Statistics and Stationery and Printing. Malladi Krishna Rao has got Health and Family Welfare, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Fisheries, Housing, Sports and Youth Affairs, Art and Culture and Science and Technology.M O H F Shah Jahan has been assigned Revenue, Industries and Commerce, Transport, Information and Technology, Forest, Wakf Board and Minority Affairs. M Kandasamy will hold charge of Social Welfare, Women and Child Development, Adi Dravidar Welfare, Backward Classes Welfare, Cooperation, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Labour and Employment and Pollution Control. R Kamalakannan had been allocated Electricity, Education including Collegiate Education, Agriculture, District and Rural Development Agency, Community Development, Fire Services and Sainik Welfare, the release said. Meanwhile, a notification said A John Kumar, a first time legislator from Nellithope constituency, has been appointed Parliamentary Secretary to the Chief Minister on Narayanasamys recommendation. R K R Anandaraman, MLA, was appointed as the Government whip, another notification said. PTI COR VS RCJ DKadvertisementlast_img read more

Read More